Super League final squad lists announced by ECB
April 21, 2016, 1:49 pm     |   Source: Sky News

Twenty20 World Cup star Hayley Matthews will play for Lancashire Thunder in the Kia Super League, the ECB have confirmed after unveiling the final squads for the competition.

An initial pool of 200 players has been whittled down to the final 90 who will turn out in the inaugural six-team T20 competition, which runs from July 30 - August 21.

Each team has named a playing squad of 15, comprising of three or four England internationals, three overseas stars, two or three England Academy players, and six or seven cricketers who have been selected through a county talent identification process.

Matthews - named Player of the Match in last month`s T20 World Cup final after a match-winning knock of 66 from 45 balls - links up with compatriot Deandra Dottin at Lancashire after Australian all-rounder Jess Jonassen`s enforced withdrawal through injury.   

Former England internationals Arran Brindle, Beth Morgan and Laura Newton will also feature in the Super League, bringing a wealth of experience after amassing a combined 330 international caps between them.

ECB Director of England Women`s Cricket, Clare Connor, said: "The momentum behind the new Kia Super League continues to gather pace, and today marks another important piece of the jigsaw as we get set for the competition`s launch later this summer.

"The six squads are well balanced and full of quality, talent, youth and experience.  It is excellent that we have been able to attract the likes of Arran Brindle, Beth Morgan and Laura Newton to play in the competition, alongside giving opportunities to exciting fresh faces from our Academy such as Sophie Ecclestone and Sophie Luff. 

"With just over three months until the first Kia Super League group match between Yorkshire Diamonds and Loughborough Lightning at Headingley on Saturday 30th July, all six squads are now raring to go."

Kia Super League 2016 final squads:

Lancashire Thunder: Kate Cross (EW), Sarah Taylor (EW) (capt), Danielle Wyatt (EW), Sarah Coyte (O), Deandra Dottin, Hayley Matthews (O), Sophie Ecclestone (EWA), Emma Lamb (EWA), Ellie Threlkeld (EWA), Natalie Brown, Georgia Holmes, Laura Marshall, Natasha Miles, Laura Newton, Nalisha Patel.      

Loughborough Lightning: Georgia Elwiss (EW), Rebecca Grundy (EW), Amy Jones (EW), Beth Langston (EW), Sophie Devine (O), Ellyse Perry (O), Dane van Nierkerk (O), Evelyn Jones (EWA), Alex MacDonald (EWA), Georgie Boyce, Thea Brookes, Amy Gauvrit, Lauren Griffiths, Sonia Odedra, Paige Scholfield.

Southern Vipers: Charlotte Edwards (EW) (capt), Natasha Farrant (EW), Lydia Greenway (EW), Suzie Bates (O), Sara McGlashan (O), Megan Schutt (O), Georgia Adams (EWA), Ellen Burt (EWA), Katie George (EWA), Arran Brindle, Isabelle Collis, Daisy Gardner, Alice Macleod, Fi Morris, Carla Rudd.

Surrey Stars: Tammy Beaumont (EW), Laura Marsh (EW), Natalie Sciver (EW) (capt), Rene Farrell (O), Marizanne Kapp (O), Meg Lanning (O), Sophie Dunkley (EWA), Alex Hartley (EWA), Bryony Smith (EWA), Aylish Cranstone, Grace Gibbs, Cordelia Griffith, Raveena Lakhtaria, Beth Morgan, Kirstie White.

Western Storm: Heather Knight (EW) (capt), Anya Shrubsole (EW), Fran Wilson (EW), Lizelle Lee (O), Rachel Priest (O), Stafanie Taylor (O), Freya Davies (EWA), Sophie Luff (EWA), Amara Carr, Jodie Dibble, Rosalie Fairbairn, Georgia Hennessy, Sophie Mackenzie, Cait O`Keefe, Izzy Westbury.

Yorkshire Diamonds: Katherine Brunt (EW), Jenny Gunn (EW), Danielle Hazell (EW), Lauren Winfield (EW) (capt), Alex Blackwell (O), Beth Mooney (O), Shabnim Ismail (O), Hollie Armitage (EWA), Steph Butler (EWA), Alice Davidson Richards, Teresa Graves, Katie Levick, Anna Nicholls, Laura Spragg, Katie Thompson.

EW = England Women

O = Overseas

EWA = England Women`s Academy


m1.png m2.png m3.png m4.png m5.png
f1.png f2.png f3.png f4.png f5.png
+ =